New to the forum...A Brief MotorCycle History of ME

View previous topic View next topic Go down

New to the forum...A Brief MotorCycle History of ME

Post by Nat Sass on Thu Sep 09, 2010 12:06 pm

My name is dana...and I'm new to this forum. I started riding bikes when I was 11. My first bike was a Yamaha 80.

My dad bought me a Bultaco 250 Pursang when I was 13 and I went Moto-X racing with grown ups. (didn't win, but I had lots of fun!) Continued riding and racing thru high school (started winning some, too! (but only on amateur level))

Sometime during my high school years, a buddy and I started competing against each other, doing wheelies. Looong wheelies. Every place we went, people wanted us to do wheelies. Once at a Coliseum race, we were outside the coliseum on our hopped up mini trail 50s doing wheelies in the parking lot. We thought we were going to get run off, when one of the organizers of the event came up and asked us to come inside and do wheelies for the crowd, between races. Wheelies are a lot of fun on a bike that does them well.

Jump ahead 10 or 15 more years, when I was 35, I decided to go back to school. I sold the Honda Aspencade that was the only bike I had at the time and used the money to pay tuition.

No motorcycle for 10 years. (I wasn't in school that long, just didn't get another bike, I guess this was my growing up and settling down period) I moved to Daphne in 1996 and went to work for Infirmary Health System. In 2002, I started pining for a bike to play with and do a few wheelies. So I bought a Honda XR650L (aka Big Red Pig). I opened it up (carb mod) and put a pipe on it and it really woke the bike up! I enjoyed riding back roads and doing wheelies!

[b]Then I got married... affraid